Serving the community for over 35 years!

Equality Awards

Each year AGLA presents two Equality Awards, one to an individual and one to an organization that have demonstrated a record of improving LGBTQ equality. In 2016 AGLA is also honoring a family.

The 2016 awards were presented at AGLA’s 35th anniversary reception on Nov. 11.

AGLA Equality Award – Individual
Evie Priestman

AGLA Equality Award – Family
The Grimm Family

AGLA Equality Award – Organization
Equality Prince William

AGLA Champion Award
Amanda Simpson

Previous Award Recipients

2015: Roland Watkins and Arlington County School Board Receive 2015 AGLA Equality Awards
2014: Hon. Paul Ferguson and Four Seasons Garden Club
2013: James Fisher and Arlington PFLAG
2012: Everett Fisher and Imperial Court of Washington, DC
2011: John Clisham and Servicemembers Legal Defense Network
2010: Sally Baird and Freddie’s Beach Bar & Restaurant
2009: Hon. David Englin and Unitarian Universalist Church of Arlington
2008: Kris McLaughlin and Virginia Partisans
2007: Cheryl Spector and Arlington County Public Library
2006: Jay Gandy and Equality Virginia
2005: Hon. Adam Ebbin, Virginia State Delegate and Clarendon Presbyterian Church
2004: Rhonda Buckner, Executive Director, Washington, DC Metro Area PFLAG and Log Cabin Republicans of Virginia
2003: Author Alex Sanchez and the Arlington Public Schools’ Student Services Department
2002: Arlington County Board member Jay Fisette and Whitman-Walker Clinic/Northern Virginia



Mailing Address:

PO Box 100324

Arlington, VA 22210

Phone: (571) 969-4370