Serving the community for over 35 years!

News Release

AGLA LogoContact: Tiffany M. Joslyn
President, AGLA
Phone: (508) 245-7581

Arlington Gay & Lesbian Alliance (AGLA) 2014 Scholarship Reception
Secures Over $5,000 in Contributions to Surpass Annual Fundraising Goal

Arlington, VA – AGLA held its 2014 Scholarship Reception at the home of Virginia State Senator Barbara Favola and Doug Weik on May 8. All proceeds of the event go directly to AGLA’s scholarship fund, which supports the award of a $2,500 scholarship to one outstanding Arlington Public High School senior each year. Scholarship recipients are selected based on their demonstrated accomplishments in support of the Arlington Public Schools’ (APS) policies of diversity, fairness, safety, and equality, and/or their membership and activities in their schools’ Gay-Straight Alliance. Created in 2001, the AGLA scholarship fund supports the award of at least one scholarship annually.

With over 50 community members in attendance, the evening was an outstanding success. Attendees were treated to an array of hors d’oeurves, desserts, and beverages in the standing-room only space. In her welcoming remarks, AGLA President Tiffany M. Joslyn announced that even before the event started, the Host Committee had pledged over $5,000 for the scholarship fund, and more contributions continue to come in. Joslyn thanked all the donors, but singled out Favola and Weik for opening their home, as well as Jon Fleming Photography and David Rowley of Minuteman Press for their generous in-kind contributions of photography and printed programs and signs.

Senator Favola welcomed the guests to her home and applauded them for their service to the community, acknowledging the slew of elected officials and community leaders in attendance. She introduced the keynote speaker, Kisha Webster, the Director of Education and Community Engagement for Welcoming Schools, which is a project of the Human Rights Campaign Foundation.

Webster spoke passionately about the work being done by Welcoming Schools and the importance of educating and training all faculty and staff members, particularly those in leadership or supervisory roles, on embracing diversity, avoiding gender stereotyping and affirming gender, and ending bullying and name-calling. After several interesting questions from the audience, Webster closed with a challenge for those in the room—to make sure the first school in Virginia to become a Welcoming School is in Arlington.

Following Webster’s remarks, Joslyn closed out the program by recognizing the 2014 AGLA Scholarship Recipient Jack Lax with a certificate, stating: “It is because of people like Jack and the work he has done that Arlington will meet Kisha’s challenge to have the first Welcoming School in Virginia.” Photos and video from the event are available on AGLA’s Facebook page:

Leading up to the event, AGLA secured a diverse Host Committee that included a majority of Arlington’s elected officials, several candidates for elected office, business and community leaders, many longtime supporters, and even some new friends. The 2014 AGLA Scholarship Reception Host Committee is as follows:

Doctorate Level – $250 Contribution
The Honorable Barbara Favola & Doug Weik
Kitty Clark Stevenson & ABLE’N Consulting
Bill Euille for Congress
Jon Fleming Photography
Barbara Kanninen for Arlington School Board
Delegate Alfonso Lopez
David Rowley & Minuteman Press
Hamish Park & Roland Watkins
Ivan Santos & Skyline Wellness Center
Noah Simon

Master’s Level
Matthew Crouch
Charles Meng
Catherine Read
Shuttleworth for Congress

Bachelor’s Level
Ron Bookbinder & James Fisher
Bob Brink
Merle Decker
Theresa & Peter Fallon
Bill & Elizabeth Fogarty
Kris McLaughlin
Ingrid Morroy & Jerry Botland
Nancy Pilchen
Jay Fisette & Bob Rosen
Gordon & Farah Simonett
Theo Stamos
John & Mary Vihstadt
Betsey Wildhack & Susie Doyel
Bob Witeck & Bob Connelly

Associate’s Level
Beth Arthur
Sandy Bass
Charlene Bickford
Shelby Blake Stephyns
Lavern J. Chatman
Stephanie Clifford
Carla de la Pava
Christian Dorsey
Paul Ferguson
TJ Flavell
Libby Garvey
Greg Greeley
Lauren Hall
Karla Hagan
Daniel Hays
Cragg Hines
Patrick Hope
Mary Hynes
Tiffany Joslyn
James S. Lander
George Lee Kennedy
Kip Malinosky
Judy Moats
Frank O’Leary
Atima Omara-Alwala
Leah Pellegrino
J. Walter Tejada
Mary Margaret Whipple

AGLA is a strong beacon for EQUALITY in Arlington, Virginia. It’s an inclusive nonpartisan 501(c)(3) nonprofit open to all lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT) people and allies. We provide socials, build relationships with elected officials and work with civic groups to provide community services. AGLA has helped numerous Arlington high school students with a demonstrated commitment to LGBT equality. The AGLA Scholarship Fund is one of the demonstrable elements of AGLA’s commitment to our community and an opportunity to lend our support to the youth of Arlington County. For more information, visit




Mailing Address:

PO Box 100324

Arlington, VA 22210