Serving the community for over 35 years!

AGLA Equality Awards

Each year AGLA presents two Equality Awards, one to an individual and one to an organization that have demonstrated a record of improving LGBTQ equality. In 2016 AGLA also honored a family.

The 2022 awards were presented at AGLA’s Annual Holiday Party on December 17, 2022.

2022 AGLA Equality Award – Individual
Del. Patrick Hope

2022 AGLA Equality Award – Organization
Kingsburg Chocolate’s

Previous Award Recipients

2021: Debbie Dimon, AFAC
2020: Katie Cristol, Port City Brewery
2019: Jordan Costen, Impacto LGBT
2018: TJ Flavell, Alexandria Commission on HIV/AIDS
2017: Justin Ayars, Q Virginia: Virginia’s LGBTQ Media Company, Elizabeth Fogerty, Mr. Robert “Bob” Witeck, Witeck Communications, Inc.
2016: Evie Priestman, The Grimm Family, Equality Prince William, and Amanda Simpson
2015: Roland Watkins and Arlington County School Board Receive 2015 AGLA Equality Awards
2014: Hon. Paul Ferguson and Four Seasons Garden Club
2013: James Fisher and Arlington PFLAG
2012: Everett Fisher and Imperial Court of Washington, DC
2011: John Clisham and Servicemembers Legal Defense Network
2010: Sally Baird and Freddie’s Beach Bar & Restaurant
2009: Hon. David Englin and Unitarian Universalist Church of Arlington
2008: Kris McLaughlin and Virginia Partisans
2007: Cheryl Spector and Arlington County Public Library
2006: Jay Gandy and Equality Virginia
2005: Hon. Adam Ebbin, Virginia State Delegate and Clarendon Presbyterian Church
2004: Rhonda Buckner, Executive Director, Washington, DC Metro Area PFLAG and Log Cabin Republicans of Virginia
2003: Author Alex Sanchez and the Arlington Public Schools’ Student Services Department
2002: Arlington County Board member Jay Fisette and Whitman-Walker Clinic/Northern Virginia



Mailing Address:

PO Box 100324

Arlington, VA 22210